Thursday, February 22, 2018

Z by Larissa Ione [Review]

 Z by Larissa Ione
Z (Demonica Underworld #3) by Larissa Ione
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 13, 2017

Demonica Underworld
1. Azagoth
2. Hades
3. ZPaperback | Kindle
4. Razr

Larissa Ione
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Zhubaal, fallen angel assistant to the Grim Reaper, has spent decades searching for the angel he loved and lost nearly a century ago. Not even her death can keep him from trying to find her, not when he knows she’s been given a second chance at life in a new body. But as time passes, he’s losing hope, and he wonders how much longer he can hold to the oath he swore to her so long ago…

As an emim, the wingless offspring of two fallen angels, Vex has always felt like a second-class citizen. But if she manages to secure a deal with the Grim Reaper — by any means necessary — she will have earned her place in the world. The only obstacle in the way of her plan is a sexy hardass called Z, who seems determined to thwart her at every turn. Soon it becomes clear that they have a powerful connection rooted in the past…but can any vow stand the test of time?
Thoughts on Z: You gotta love a fallen angel with a heart of gold. Okay, maybe that was stretching it. Z definitely has morals, but he also still does his part in helping Azagoth keep things running smoothly. And sometimes those things are of the dangerous, bloody kind.

That said, Z also has to come to accept that time moves on. Meaning, his lady love isn't the same angel she was before. Literally. She's NOT the same person. She's gone through a reincarnation and the ties that bound her to Z have stretched.

Frankly, Vex is everything Laura wasn't. She's deadly and driven and she has a handful of souls she needs to unload before they tear her apart. GOOD TIMES!

I'm loving these underworld stories. These fallen aren't all sweetness and light, but they do know how to treat their ladies right. You know, between the torture and eviscerations. *slow thumbs up*

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Hades by Larissa Ione [Review]

 Hades by Larissa Ione
Hades (Demonica Underworld #2) by Larissa Ione
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 13, 2017

Demonica Underworld
1. Azagoth
2. HadesPaperback | Kindle
3. Z
4. Razr

Larissa Ione
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A fallen angel with a mean streak and a mohawk, Hades has spent thousands of years serving as Jailor of the Underworld. The souls he guards are as evil as they come, but few dare to cross him. All of that changes when a sexy fallen angel infiltrates his prison and unintentionally starts a riot. It’s easy enough to quell an uprising, but for the first time, Hades is torn between delivering justice — bestowing or mercy — on the beautiful female who could be his salvation…or his undoing.

Thanks to her unwitting participation in another angel’s plot to start Armageddon, Cataclysm was kicked out of Heaven and is now a fallen angel in service of Hades’s boss, Azagoth. All she wants is to redeem herself and get back where she belongs. But when she gets trapped in Hades’s prison domain with only the cocky but irresistible Hades to help her, Cat finds that where she belongs might be in the place she least expected…
Thoughts on Hades: HADES! Mohawked, kinda evil, but still good enough for an Unfallen to, umm, fall for him. What can I say? I like these underworld men. They're not all bad. Just mostly. *thumbs up*

So. Cat. We met her when Azagoth hired her to help out around his domain after Lilliana came to live with him. She's not necessarily the best housekeeper, but she and Lilliana have become friends and Azagoth kinda puts up with her clumsiness. Kinda. Mostly. But Cat is aptly named and she might have *accidentally* put herself in a bad situation when she tried to right a mistake she made.

Buuuut, considering she's forced to spend time with Hades when they get trapped in the Inner Sanctum, I think things turn out all right. Mostly. Except for that torture part. But she mostly doesn't remember that, so...it's FINE!

Really. FINE.

Sexy and dangerous, I'm looking forward to Z's story now.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Unfrozen by Regine Abel [Review]

 Unfrozen by Regine Abel
Unfrozen (Valos of Sonhadra #9) by Regine Abel
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: February 9, 2018

Valos of Sonhadra
1. Alluvial
2. Tempest
3. Blazing
4. Whirlwind
5. Radiant
6. Shadowed
7. Undying
8. Enduring
9. Unfrozen - Kindle

Regine Abel
Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When the penitentiary ship she's incarcerated in gets sucked into an anomaly, Lydia barely survives the crash onto an alien planet. Only the sadistic experiments performed on her by the prison's scientist allow her to survive this harsh and dangerous world. The future looks grim until she stumbles upon a magnificent city of ice and its most unusual inhabitant.

Kai is fascinated by the delicate stranger fallen from the stars with the power to bring his hibernating city back to life. She stirs emotions long forgotten by his frozen heartstone. Can she be the salvation of his people or will the trap set by the Creators bring about their collective doom?
Thoughts on Unfrozen: Okay. So I love sci-fi romance. And I love when we get new takes on my favorite scenarios (a character being marooned on a planet and forced to use their wits and skills to survive is HIIIIGH on my list of faves). And I love romances that step outside the boundaries of a more traditional pairing (Lydia and Kai finding a way to be together despite their differences THRILLED me!).

Basically, I'm saying this book hit all my hot buttons. Romance on a distant world between two beings who are VERY different. LOOOOVE IT!

(To be fair, Regine Abel has quickly become an author whose sci-fi romances I adore, so loving this book isn't so much a surprise as a happy addition to my growing collection of books by her.)

But enough about my fangirl love for distant worlds. Let's talk about Lydia and Kai. The experiments aboard the prison ship has taken Lydia's inborn abilities and added a few extras to them. So she's VERY well equipped to handle the dangers the planet throws at her. As it turns out, only her ability to withstand extremes in heat and cold can help save Kai and his people from complete extinction. So, you know, I guess, IN THIS ONE INSTANCE, those experiments worked out for the best.

Meanwhile, Kai's existence is barren before Lydia arrives. He's going through the motions, but even he's starting to feel the press of time that so many of his brothers have succumbed to.

I REALLY liked this world and the awful things Lydia has to unravel to save Kai and his people. In fact, I want more of them. I want to see what happens next to this strange, powerful tribe and the human who reawakened them.




Monday, February 19, 2018

Rocky Mountain Home by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Rocky Mountain Home by Vivian Arend
Rocky Mountain Home (Six Pack Ranch #11) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 21, 2017

Six Pack Ranch
1. Rocky Mountain Heat
2. Rocky Mountain Haven
3. Rocky Mountain Desire
4. Rocky Mountain Angel
5. Rocky Mountain Rebel
6. Rocky Mountain Freedom
7. Rocky Mountain Romance
8. Rocky Retreat
9. Rocky Mountain Shelter
10. Rocky Mountain Devil
11. Rocky Mountain HomePaperback | Kindle

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
There’s no distance you can run to escape the past.

Too stubborn to face his sins, Jesse Coleman bolted from the Six Pack Ranch, only to fall straight into the arms of a beautiful stranger. Twelve hours later, the seductive firebrand is nothing but a whiskey-laced memory—but one powerful enough to convince Jesse tracking down his elusive lover is worth the effort.

Darilyn Hayes figured it was her lucky night when the sexiest cowboy in Alberta interrupted her annual drink-until-I-fall-over wake. At least until four weeks later when she discovers she’s pregnant and her one-night-stand is nowhere to be found. Still, as she’s shared with her devoted blog readers, Dare has dealt with life’s not-so-gentle surprises before. She’ll make it on her own.

When an internet picture gone viral leads to their reunion, Jesse’s floored by Dare’s news. She’s very clear she’s not looking for a commitment, but screw that. He’s going to do the right thing by her and his unborn kid. The fact they lit the sheets on fire is a bonus, but with a baby on the way, both their lives are gonna change.

Jesse’s got a ton of family to reconnect with, including his estranged twin. Dare holds family loosely—even though she loves them—because she knows too well how fragile life can be. Between her and Jesse, they’ve got enough baggage to open a store.

But they still have a shot at forever—if they’re willing to fight for it.

This final novel in the series contains the following:
A sexy, dirty, cocky-as-hell prodigal son Coleman with massive bridges to rebuild. A woman able to see to the heart of the matter yet bold enough to speak the truth. A family of extraordinary resolve and endless love. A wedding or two. And babies—oh lordy, the babies…
Thoughts on Rocky Mountain Home: AND BABIES. That warning in the blurb doesn't lie. The Colemans are a prolific bunch and they're not afraid to get physical with their special someone. So there are babies. SO MANY BABIES. (It's GLORIOUS!)

But this book isn't entirely about babies (although they do play a starring role). This book is about Jesse and Dare and family and finding forgiveness. Jesse was a wreck when we last saw him. He was beating himself up and making everyone's life tough because of it. From his perspective, running was the only way he could free himself from the pickle he found himself in.

Except, as he finds out when he FINALLY returns home, there are other ways to deal with problems besides running. It takes him a while, but that lesson eventually sticks. But then, Jesse had some growing up to do and Dare and her little surprise gave him the push he needed to do exactly that.

I LOVED seeing so many familiar faces. Those Colemans live hard and love harder and it was SO FUN to watch their big, sprawling family welcome Dare into the fold. And all those babies. They were welcomed, too.

I'm sad to say goodbye to this clan, but I'm excited for the spin-off series to come. You can't keep a good rancher down, amirite?!?!

Sunday, February 18, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (02/18/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • On Tuesday, Jenny and Evan headed into the Haunted House at the carnival in the newest Series Short. I really like writing those two!
    • On Friday, I talked about a the sci-fi series I wrote last year. GAWD, I love those books. I really need to publish them.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [49]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, February 23rd to Sunday, February 25th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and tentative future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, February 16, 2018

Deal with the Devil by Cynthia Eden [Review]

 Deal with the Devil by Cynthia Eden
Deal with the Devil (Purgatory #4) by Cynthia Eden
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read:May 13, 2017

Purgatory
1. The Beast Within
2. Marked by the Vampire
3. Charming the Beast
4. Deal with the DevilPaperback | Kindle

Cynthia Eden
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Eric Pate is used to making his own rules—as the director of the PARA Unit, he is the boss. Everyone rushes to obey his commands, and no one knows his secrets. No one ever gets too close to him. But then he meets her.

Ella Lancaster is tired of being a prisoner. She escaped one hell just to find herself in another, but Eric doesn’t consider her containment with his agents as punishment. He actually thinks it is a form of protection. But Eric is so very wrong. Ella doesn’t need protecting, not for anyone or anything.

But when the PARA Unit comes under attack, Ella and Eric both find themselves battling a supernatural beast that they never expected. Forced to join forces, to make a deal, Ella and Eric are soon fighting side-by-side, and their attraction for each other can’t be contained or controlled. Hot. Wild. Consuming. Ella’s deal with her devil is soon taking over her life.

And as Eric falls deeper and deeper under the mysterious Ella’s spell, his legendary control begins to crack. The beast that he has kept chained so carefully inside rises to the surface. Unfortunately, when the devil loses his control…there is real hell to pay.
Thoughts on Deal with the Devil: Okay. I didn't know what to expect with Eric's story. I mean, the guy's been kind of a jerk in the other books. Or, well, maybe jerk is the wrong word. He's driven and he does what needs to be done without regards to how it affects others and I wasn't sure I really liked him.

Buuuuut he also had a softer side. He did feel remorse over what he did to his sister and he was loyal to her. But he was still kind of a jerk.

So, you know, having Ella crash into his orbit and crack his careful mask was interesting. I have to admit, he stayed true to character when he allowed her to jump to a conclusion about him and he didn't correct her misconception. That jerk.

But then he got all tangled up over her pain and...the guy is complicated, okay? Complicated. And I liked him a whole lot more once he admitted his feelings and his secrets came out.

Meanwhile, Ella had her own issues. Several of them,in fact. Eric was only one roadblock she had to navigate.

Dark, dangerous, and not always nice, I liked these paranormals. I'm sad to see them go.