Thursday, August 17, 2017

Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag
Luke's Dream (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #3) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 4, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's DreamPaperback | Kindle
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Luke’s been kicked in the teeth by fate enough to know: nice guys finish last. He’s done being nice and waiting for his due.

Finding Bethony, another potential Mate, was supposed to be his chance at a true Mate. However, she’s young and afraid and needs time to get to know him first. Bethony has different plans. She’s willing to Claim Luke, but only to stop her terrifying dreams; she’s not interested in love or romance.

The closer the pair get to the Compound, the deeper the danger becomes. Luke isn’t the only wolf looking for Bethi. He must choose between Bethi’s safety and peace of mind, or his dream of finding a true Mate.
Thoughts on Luke's Dream: Goodness, it's been a while since I read a Companion book and I'd forgotten how much I enjoy getting in the heads of the guys and seeing their side of the story. Heck, Luke's reaction to Clay alone was worth the price of admission!

But this book is more than just Luke snarking about Clay. This is about Luke finding the woman he's destined to be with and not knowing how to break through her fear. Honestly, I got her reaction. With everything she's seeing in her dreams, she's terrified of the fate she thinks is set out of her. Good thing Luke isn't the monster she thinks he is, right?

And good thing the women are finally starting to piece things together so they know what they're up against in the coming battle.

I'm determined to get completely caught up soon so I can go back and do a reread to experience it all over again. Just watch me.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Summer by Sierra Dean [Review]

 Summer by Sierra Dean
Summer (Dog Days #4) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 4, 2017

Dog Days
1. Autumn
2. Winter
3. Spring
4. SummerKindle

Sierra Dean
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Cooper Reynolds has been missing for months.

The whole town of Poisonfoot, Texas believes he has run away, proving they were right not to trust him. They believe he left like his brother and father before him: another good-for-nothing Reynolds man leaving the small town in his dust. No one is looking for him.

No one but Lou Whittaker.

Lou knows Cooper was taken, she just doesn’t know where he is or how to get him back. With the help of budding witch, Max, and an unlikely ally in her former enemy Archer Wyatt, Lou is determined to find Cooper and bring him back in one piece.

But time is running out. Summer is upon them, and if they don’t find Cooper before his 18th birthday, they’ll be bringing home a wild animal instead of their beloved friend.
Thoughts on Summer: Good gravy, this was a satisfying ending to this series. SO SATISFYING. Cooper and Lou got their ending. The curse was dealt with. Danger and heartache and magic were all mashed up in a glorious mix. *le sigh*

But before we got to that point, Lou and Cooper's family had to deal with his disappearance. Meanwhile, Cooper was trapped in a terrible place with some terrible people. The Wyatts were being typically Wyatt-ish and that NEVER works out well for the good guys, does it?

Again, this was just such a satisfying ending. Everyone got what they needed/wanted and a few people got things they never thought they'd get. I am pleased.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

The Hooker and the Hermit by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid [Review]

 The Hooker and the Hermit by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid
The Hooker and the Hermit (Rugby #1) by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 21, 2017

Rugby
1. The Hooker and the Hermit - Paperback | Kindle
2. The Player and the Pixie
3. The Cad and the Co-ed

L.H. Cosway
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
New York’s Finest
Blogging as *The Socialmedialite*
April 22
LADIES AND GENTS! I have an announcement!

You know that guy I featured on my blog a few months ago? The really, really hot Irish rugby player who plays the position of ‘hooker’ in the RLI (Rugby League International)? The one with the anger management issues, the body of a gladiator and the face of a movie star? The one with the questionable fashion choices leading me to ask whether he was the lovechild of a leprechaun and a hobbit? Ronan Fitzpatrick? Yeah, that guy.

Well, I have a confession to make…

THE HERMIT

Annie Catrel, social media expert extraordinaire at Davidson & Croft Media and clandestine celebrity blogger, can make anyone shine in the court of public opinion. She is the Socialmedialite, anonymous creator of New York’s Finest and the internet’s darling. Virtual reality is Annie’s forte, but actual reality? Not so much.

THE HOOKER

Ronan Fitzpatrick, aka the best hooker the world of rugby has seen in decades, despises the media—social or otherwise. The press has spun a web of lies depicting him as rugby’s wild and reckless bad boy. Suspended from his team, Ronan has come to Manhattan to escape the drama, lay low, fly under the radar. Only, Ronan isn’t easy to overlook, and he can’t escape the notice of the Socialmedialite…

THE PLAN

When Ronan is sent to Davidson & Croft Media to reshape his public image, he never expects to cross paths with shy but beautiful Annie, nor does he expect his fierce attraction to her. He couldn’t be happier when her boss suggests pairing them together.

What lengths will Annie take to keep her virtual identity concealed? And what happens when the hooker discovers who the hermit really is?
Thoughts on The Hooker and the Hermit: I became a dedicated Penny Reid fan a couple books back (Fangirl. I mean a die-hard fangirl. Just so we're clear) and I've never regretted anything less than this. ANYTHING. I love her writing and I'm GIDDY beyond belief to read anything by her whether it's co-written or singly-written. That said, I think this book gave me a new author to send smoldering looks toward. Well played, author duo. Well played.

Soooo... Ronan and Annie. He's got a bit of bite and swagger, she hides behind baggy clothes and a failure to make eye contact. She doesn't hide online, though. Well, she does. That whole anonymity thing, but she's her under the fake name and sass. She's the Annie she would be if her social anxiety didn't tangle her up. Ronan sees all her hangups and likes her anyway.

Then he more than likes her and things get interesting. GLORIOUSLY INTERESTING!

I seriously can't wait to watch the other members of Ronan's team fall for their special lady friends.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Spotlight On...Beard in Mind by Penny Reid [Excerpt & Giveaway]

BEARD IN MIND BT BANNER.jpg

Beard in Mind, an all new standalone in the bestselling, romantic comedy Winston Brothers Series by Penny Reid, is available NOW!

BIM-cover (2)
All is fair in love and auto maintenance.

Beau Winston is the nicest, most accommodating guy in the world. Usually.
Handsome as the devil and twice as charismatic, Beau lives a charmed life as everyone’s favorite Winston Brother. But since his twin decided to leave town, and his other brother hired a stunning human-porcupine hybrid as a replacement mechanic for their auto shop, Beau Winston’s charmed life has gone to hell in a handbasket.

Shelly Sullivan is not nice and is never accommodating. Ever.
She mumbles to herself, but won’t respond when asked a question. She glares at everyone, especially babies. She won’t shake hands with or touch another person, but has no problems cuddling with a dog. And her damn parrot speaks only in curse words.
Beau wants her gone. He wants her out of his auto shop, out of Tennessee, and out of his life.

The only problem is, learning why this porcupine wears her coat of spikes opens a Pandora’s box of complexity—exquisite, tempting, heartbreaking complexity—and Beau Winston soon discovers being nice and accommodating might mean losing what matters most.

Excerpt:



She’d taken the sofa, in her own house, and given me the bed. That didn’t make a lick of sense.

I crouched next to her, threading my fingers into the silky hair at her temples. “Honey.”

“Mmm.”

I bent to whisper, “Shelly.”

“Hmm?”

“I’m going to carry you to your bed. I’ll take the sofa.”

“Mmm.”

I grinned at her soft noises, at the untroubled expression on her face, and how her brow—even in sleep—still looked regal and stern.

Sliding my arms under her legs and shoulder, I picked her up. And, unfortunately, that woke her up.

She jerked in my arms. “What are you doing?”

“I’m taking you to the bed.”

“Don’t do that.”

“I don’t mind, I’ll take the sofa.” Our mouths were just inches apart, and hers was distracting.

She squirmed. “Put me down.”

Sighing unhappily, I did. I set her on her feet next to the couch. The blanket pooled at her feet and I stepped back to give her some space. It was dark, but I could see her just fine, and that meant I had to force my eyes to remain above her neck. The woman was wearing two pathetic scraps of fabric as pajamas. A thin little tank top and shorts. That’s it.

I set my jaw and turned to the side, waiting for her to walk past.

“Where are you?”

I glanced at her and realized she couldn’t see at all. She didn’t have a hand out, but the way her eyes were moving about the room gave away her blindness.

“I’m here.” I didn’t touch her, because if I did, I wouldn’t want to stop.

Shelly turned her head in my direction and took a deep breath. Still she didn’t reach for me. I didn’t know the specifics of what to expect after her Friday session, but I recalled Dr. West saying something about Shelly doing self-guided ERP exercises over this week.

“Can you see?” She licked her lips, her voice sandpapery. “Because I can’t see at all. It’s so dark.”

“I can see.” Unbidden, my eyes dropped to her body, to the swell of her breasts, the panel of bare stomach, the curve of her hips. Pinpricks of heat raised over my skin and I curled my hands into fists.

She shuffled forward and I caught her before she bumped into me, setting my hands gently at her waist.

“Let me take you to your room.” My voice was rough, for obvious reasons.

Saying nothing, she brought her hand to my forearm, her body gently colliding with mine. And then her hand on my arm slid up my bicep to my shoulder.

“Shelly.” I was running out of breath.

“I like this.”

“What?”

“Touching you.”

Oh fuck.

I held still and endured her hands moving over my body, down the front of my shirt, stopping at the hem, then pushing it up.

“Take this off.”

I did. I pulled the T-shirt over my head and let it drop to the floor.

We stood there, facing each other in the dark, not touching. Despite the session on Friday and the progress that had been made, I realized she wasn’t quite there yet. Dr. West was right, Friday was just a step, the first step. Shelly wasn’t able to initiate contact. Not yet.

Her hands balled into fists and she swayed forward, her breath struggling little puffs.

If anything was going to happen tonight, I had to initiate it. I had to be the one to touch first.

God, how I wanted her. How I wanted her above me, beneath me, surrounding me. But how could I?

“I know why I hesitate,” her voice was breathless, “but why do you hesitate?”

“Lots of reasons.”

“Give me one.”

“I don’t want to you use you.”

“I wish you would.”

That pulled a laugh from me, just a small relief from the mounting tension. My eyes moved over her body, an undeniable impulse to devour the sight of her, her legs, stomach, chest, then up her neck to her lips.

“You asked me on Saturday if sex was a big deal for me, or if it was you. The answer is both.”

She held very still, and I got the sense she was holding her breath, straining to listen.

“You are a big deal to me. I don’t want a fling. I don’t want a flirtation. I want promises.”

“What can I promise you?”

That you’ll love me. That I’ll be your priority.

She shifted her weight from foot to foot. A spike of anxiety that she might leave me like this had me acting without forethought. I lifted my hands to her waist again and immediately, her fingertips skimmed over skin of my lower stomach in response, making my muscles tense in hot anticipation. She grew more assertive as she caressed my sides, abdomen, ribs, chest, shoulders, and then back down.

Shelly stepped closer, a hint of thrilling contact between her breasts and my torso, and all the words and worries melted from my mind, died on my tongue, suffocated by the feel of her body, and the possibility of this moment.

Her finger hooked in the waistband of my jeans. “Take these off.” Her hand turned, her fingers and palm cupping me over my zipper.

Instinctively, I pressed myself into her touch even as I grabbed her wrist.

“Beau, I promise—”

She didn’t get to speak, because I kissed her, hard and wild, unbuttoning and unzipping my fly with one hand and bringing her palm inside my boxers with the other.


LIVE
Read Today!

(Free in Kindle Unlimited)
Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/hsTLLC

BT-Giveaway.jpg

Enter the Giveaway!


Meet Penny Reid:



Penny Reid is the USA Today Bestselling Author of the Winston Brothers and Knitting in the City series. When she’s not immersed in penning smart romances, Penny works in the biotech industry as a researcher. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

PennyReid

Connect with Penny:

Twitter: @ReidRomance

Beard in Mind by Penny Reid [Review]

 Beard in Mind by Penny Reid
Beard in Mind (Winston Brothers #4) by Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author
Date read: July 21, 2017

Winston Brothers
0.5. Beauty and the Mustache
1. Truth or Beard
2. Grin and Beard It
3. Beard Science
3.5. Beard in Waiting
4. Beard in Mind - Paperback | Kindle
5. Dr. Strange Beard
6. Beard Necessities

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
All's fair in love and auto maintenance.

Beau Winston is the nicest, most accommodating guy in the world. Usually.

Handsome as the devil and twice as charismatic, Beau lives a charmed life as everyone’s favorite Winston Brother. But since his twin decided to leave town, and his other brother hired a stunning human-porcupine hybrid as a replacement mechanic for their auto shop, Beau Winston’s charmed life has gone to hell in a handbasket.

Shelly Sullivan is not nice and is never accommodating. Ever.
She mumbles to herself, but won’t respond when asked a question. She glares at everyone, especially babies. She won’t shake hands with or touch another person, but has no problems cuddling with a dog. And her damn parrot speaks only in curse words.

Beau wants her gone. He wants her out of his auto shop, out of Tennessee, and out of his life.

The only problem is, learning why this porcupine wears her coat of spikes opens a Pandora’s box of complexity—exquisite, tempting, heartbreaking complexity—and Beau Winston soon discovers being nice and accommodating might mean missing out on what matters most.
Thoughts on Beard in Mind: I ADORE the Winstons. Absolutely adore them. And this book brought all my mushy, gushy love to the forefront. Not only are the characters utterly fantastic (and oftentimes diabolical), but all these little heretofore unknown secrets are bubbling up and they make me GIDDY. I have giddiness. So much giddiness.

(I'd like to get it out of the way that I didn't realize Shelly was Quinn's sister EVEN AFTER IT WAS EXPLICITLY MENTIONED in book 3. So, yeah. I'm a little dense sometimes. Like a black hole. Dangit. I'd also like to get out of the way the fact that once I realized the connection, it made this book TEN THOUSAND TIMES better. Because I love connections like that. Love 'em.)

So. Beau. The easy-going twin. The guy who's buddies with everyone and all the girls have unrequited crushes on. He is genuinely a nice guy. Except when he first meets Shelly. She gets under his skin and irritates him like no one ever has. He's sharp with her. He doesn't try to see beyond the facade she puts up. Then he gets a glimpse of the Shelly underneath and things start to change. It takes a while, but...he gets there.

Meanwhile, Shelly is a mess. She's working on fixing herself, but she's bad in social situations. She's disarmingly honest. She doesn't know how to respond to this attraction she feels toward Beau. In fact, she kinda denies there is any attraction for a while. But eventually things start to fall into place. She opens up. SLOWLY. I kinda loved that about her. It took prodding and poking and some gentle guidance, but she does start to share her problems.

Even better, she got Beau to open up to her. *fluttery sigh* I really liked them together. Really.

Without giving anything away: Secrets. Beau's feelings of being left behind. More secrets. A bad feeling that things are going to get nasty with the Iron Wraiths before this series ends. People facing their issues head on. AND THE WINSTON FAMILY. OMG, I ADORE THEM SO MUCH! I just reread the series and I kinda want to do it all over again now.

*draws glittery hearts around all of them*

Sunday, August 13, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (08/13/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • DEAR GAWD, BOUT OF BOOKS IS ALMOST HEEEEERE! It starts the 21st! An entire week of bookish fun! JOIN US!

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [43]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, August 25th to Sunday, August 27th.

Since the Book Bumblings site hasn't been updated in a couple months, I'm not sure if she's still running these. HOWEVER, I do enjoy the push to get reviews written and, with Bout of Books coming up, I'm going to need ALL THE PUSHES to stay on top of these bad boys. SO...I'm still participating. Anybody who wants to join me can and we'll make it a party!

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}