Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Can't Hardly Breathe by Gena Showalter [Review]

 Can't Hardly Breathe by Gena Showalter
Can't Hardly Breathe (The Original Heartbreakers #4) by Gena Showalter
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: July 24, 2017

The Original Heartbreakers
0.5. The One You Want
1. The Closer You Come 
2. The Hotter You Burn
3. The Harder You Fall
4. Can't Hardly BreathePaperback | Kindle
5. Can't Let Go
6. Can't Get Enough

Gena Showalter
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Bullied in high school, Dorothea Mathis's past is full of memories she'd rather forget. But there's one she can't seem to shake—her long-standing crush on former army ranger Daniel Porter. Now that the sexy bad boy has started using her inn as his personal playground, she should kick him out…but his every heated glance makes her want to join him instead.

Daniel returned to Strawberry Valley, Oklahoma, to care for his ailing father and burn off a little steam with no strings attached. Though he craves curvy Dorothea night and day, he's as marred by his past as she is by hers. The more he desires her, the more he fears losing her.

But every sizzling encounter leaves him desperate for more, and soon Daniel must make a choice: take a chance on love or walk away forever.
Thoughts on Can't Hardly Breathe: We're back in Strawberry Valley! This time around, we're given Dorothea and Daniel's story. Dorothea, who can't shake her hated high school nickname and is busting her butt to keep the inn running despite pretty minimal help from her family. And Daniel, who has more than a few issues he needs to get a handle on.

You know, to be fair, Dorothea had more complicated issues than I mentioned above. Her family still isn't terribly helpful, though.

To say that their road to happily ever after is a little bumpy is pretty accurate. She's trying to come out of her shell. He's determined to keep himself in his. For everyone's safety. At least that's his reasoning. He sets some pretty clear boundaries to their relationship, she's not willing to be anybody's dirty secret.

There are heated glances and longing looks and coming to terms with the things they're unwilling to compromise on. I honestly enjoyed the two of them together. Plus, we were introduced to their pool of friends and they ALL look like they're going to have just as bumpy roads on their own journeys to finding their special someone.

It shouldn't have to be said, but I am TOTALLY down for that.

Monday, September 18, 2017

Year of the Scorpio: Part 2 by Stacy Gail [Review]

 Year of the Scorpio Part 2 by Stacy Gail
Year of the Scorpio: Part 2 (Scorpio #2) by Stacy Gail
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: February 19, 2017

Scorpio
1. Year of the Scorpio: Part 1
2. Year of the Scorpio: Part 2Kindle

Stacy Gail
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
***TRIGGER WARNING: This is a MAFIA romance. In addition to several scenes with strong sexual content, there are also scenes involving violence, death, gun play, mention of sexual abuse, and adult language. Due to the nature of this book, it is intended for 18+ audiences only***

My name is Dash.

The Vitaliev Bratva had always been a part of my life, but I was never a part of it. My father built it from the ground up, and while he never hid what the family business was, he never wanted my life to be tainted by it.

But my father forgot one thing.

I’m also a Vitaliev.

Everything I hold dear has been targeted since my father’s death—my business, my friends, and the peaceful world I’ve built for myself. But it wasn’t until the love of my life, Polo Scorpeone, was struck down by a sniper’s bullet that I realized being a Vitaliev isn’t a curse.

It’s a strength.

I will face my hidden enemy with the Vitaliev fire of old, and I’ll do it with the most powerful lethal weapon Chicago’s underworld has ever known by my side.

Come to find out, the legendary Scorpio is hard to kill.
Thoughts on Year of the Scorpio: Part 2: Holy crap balls. Dash and Polo. Yeah. Yeeeeeah. They kinda killed me. Dash, because she was so broken by losing Polo at the end of book 1. It was rough. Really rough. And Polo, because I might not have agreed with him keeping his non-death from Dash, but I understood where he was coming from.

Their lives are messed up and complicated and Polo was trying to spare Dash the heartache he'd felt in his own life when he dealt with the deepest of all betrayals. I get that. I...really get that. Of course, him keeping silent ended up hurting her far more than he expected it would, but I still understand where he was coming from.

*deep breath* So there were some complicated emotions involved in the Dash/Polo dynamic. On top of that, we were also given the threat of wholesale war between the different families that hold Chicago. Old alliances have shattered and violence is in the air. Dash, badass that she is, rises to the occasion once she has reason to. She might not be part of the underworld her father built, but she's comfortable stepping into it.

She's determined to create a life for herself and Polo and that means nullifying any threats against them. Frankly, she's the perfect match for Polo in that regard.

As always, I love having the chance to revisit favorite characters. I ADORED seeing Sass and Rude and Sass's extended family again. Adored it so much, I'm going back to reread their book. And that ending? THAT ENDING. Loved it. I honestly did. Polo and Dash both went through hell and came back stronger and they deserved every ounce of happiness they could milk out of life.

Who'd have thought a killer like Marco Polo Scorpeone could end up being the type of character I desperately wanted good things to happen to?

Sunday, September 17, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (09/17/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
  • Currently reading 
    • Suicide Queen by S.M. Reine
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • On Friday, we took a look at what I'm reading. Hint: Urban fantasy and sci-fi romance. I just can't get enough of that sexy sci-fi!

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [44]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, September 22nd to Sunday, September 24th.

Since the Book Bumblings site hasn't been updated in a couple months, I'm not sure if she's still running these. HOWEVER, I do enjoy the push to get reviews written and I'm going to keep doing them. Anybody who wants to join me can and we'll make it a party!

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}

Friday, September 15, 2017

When a Lioness Snarls by Eve Langlais [Review]

 When a Lioness Snarls by Eve Langlais
When a Lioness Snarls (A Lion's Pride #5) by Eve Langlais
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 5, 2017

A Lion's Pride
1. When an Alpha Purrs
2. When a Beta Roars
3. When an Omega Snaps
4. A Tiger's Bride
5. When a Lioness SnarlsPaperback | Kindle
6. When a Lioness Pounces
7. When a Lioness Growls

Eve Langlais
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Stalking is only a crime among humans. In a lioness’s world, it’s called dating.

Jeoff, is a bit of a killjoy, a super cute one who gets furry on full moons.

But so does she.

Luna is everything Jeoff is not. Outrageous, outgoing, and violent. Very violent, and unafraid to go after what she wants—and she wants Jeoff.

Silly man, he thinks he can resist, but once a lioness sets her sights on a man, paws off! And if anyone thinks to try and take him… There’s a reason why the ladies of the pride win the yearly award for Baddest Biatches.

Fear the claw. *Snarl*.
Thoughts on When a Lioness Snarls: Man, I like these felines. They're all just a little wild and a little bloodthirsty and I LOVE IT.

Luna is definitely a prime example of a lioness. She's shameless and blunt and she goes after what she wants. And she wants Jeoff. Jeoff who is determined to NOT get into a relationship with a lioness. Because drama. He's not wrong, either. Luna is rough and tumble and she brings the noise.

As for Jeoff, he's a little buttoned up. Little bit. Until he isn't. Let's just say that those animal urges aren't only found on the feline end of the spectrum. #NakedWerewolves are the best!

As always, I was immensely entertained by the characters (seriously, those bloodthirsty lions make me grin) and intrigued by the newest twist to be revealed with this world. Bring on the crazy!

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Never Let Go by Katie Michaels [Review]

 Never Let Go by Katie Michaels
Never Let Go (A Lot Like Love #2) by Katie Michaels
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: February 24, 2017

A Lot Like Love
1. Feels Like Forever
2. Never Let GoKindle
3. Hold On Tight

Katie Michaels
| WebsiteTwitter | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After a devastating loss, Evelyn Sanders and Luke Rogers think the worst is behind them. They’re starting college with the world at their feet. But dreams of football glory and a happily ever after are shattered when past secrets blow up in their faces. They could have had it all, but some betrayals may be too much to forgive.

Every day it gets harder for Luke to control the rage growing inside him. Forged by his dark past, he's determined to turn himself around before he becomes the very thing he despises. He won't quit until he makes himself worthy of the woman he loves. But can he do it before she gives her heart to someone else?

There's another man waiting in the wings. One who's loved Evelyn as long as he has. One who has never hurt her. And Marcus is done waiting. Only Evelyn can decide if her future lies with her high school sweetheart or the guy who wants to mend her broken heart.
Thoughts on Never Let Go: I honestly didn't know which way I wanted this story to play out. On one hand, Evelyn and Luke were so darn good together in book 1 (even in the midst of all the angst and heartache). On the other, I REALLY like Marcus and how gentlemanly he is. I mean, I REALLLLLY like Marcus. He deserves a happy ending (snerk) and to have all his dreams come true.

Here's the sitch: when an incident from the past rears its ugly head, Evelyn and Luke run into some unexpected issues. Actually, it's more than one incident. Not only did Luke hurt Evelyn with his actions, but he's heading down a path that he really doesn't want to go down. One that jeopardizes everything he's built with Evelyn and puts him in a bad headspace.

When Ev and Luke take a break to deal with all the crazy, Marcus is there for Evelyn. He's there and he's a perfect gentleman and I REALLY LIKE THE GUY.

But I still dig Ev and Luke together. DO YOU SEE HOW THIS IS MESSING WITH ME? I want them all to end up happy and unless they jump on the creative loving train, it's not going to happen like that. *cries salty tears when no one is looking*

THAT SAID, I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. Possibly more than book 1, which I didn't expect because I liked book 1 a lot. Love, loss, heartache, and redemption are all rolled into one shiny package. I LIKE!

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Arkadian Skies by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Arkadian Skies by Lindsay Buroker
Arkadian Skies (Fallen Empire #6) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 1, 2017

Fallen Empire
0.5. Last Command
1. Star Nomad
1.5. Saranth Three
2. Honor's Flight
2.5. Starfall Station
3. Starseers
4. Relic of Sorrows
5. Cleon Moon
6. Arkadian SkiesPaperback | Kindle
7. Perilous Hunt
8. End Game

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
With the man who kidnapped her daughter imprisoned aboard her ship, Captain Alisa Marchenko is closer than ever to reuniting her family. But her new guest has been in a coma for weeks, with the secret to her daughter's location locked away in his mind. She must find a way to sneak him into a state-of-the-art hospital on Arkadius, a planet in the heart of Alliance territory. Not an easy task when she and the cyborg Leonidas, her most trusted ally, are wanted by the Alliance army.

As if that mission weren’t daunting enough, the Staff of Lore has appeared on the planet. As has the man who stole it: Alisa’s father.
Thoughts on Arkadian Skies: Things are (possibly) starting to come together for Alisa and her crew. Sort of. You know, if you tilt your head and squint. I mean, she's getting closer to her daughter's whereabouts and they've crossed paths with someone who can take care of Leonidas's (not-so) little problem. They just have a few obstacles to overcome. Like the Staff of Lore being unleashed as a weapon and Starseers popping up out of nowhere.

You know, little things. Barely worth mentioning.

Right. So things are progressing. Familial connections are being made. Catastrophic earthquakes are happening. Pretty much normal stuff for Alisa and her crew.

I'm heartily enjoying all the shenanigans. I love how Leonidas is still kind of awkward around Alisa's inappropriate humor. I love Mica's pessimism. I even like Abelardus and his creeping in Alisa's head.

Onto the next book.